Sophie Yates, Winner of the 2017 Sam Richardson Award, Collects the Rosemary O’Leary Prize

Dr Sophie Yates (centre) with IRSPM President Professor Jenny Lewis (left) and Professor Rosemary O'Leary (right)

Dr Sophie Yates (centre) with IRSPM President Professor Jenny Lewis (left) and Professor Rosemary O’Leary (right)

UNSW Canberra Postdoctoral research Dr Sophie Yates has collected another prize for her paper Power, Process, Plumbing: Big G and Small g Gender in Victoria’s Family Violence Policy Subsystem published last year in the Australian Journal of Public Administration.

Adding to her joint Sam Richardson Award with John Alford in 2017 for her paper Co‐Production of Public Services in Australia: The Roles of Government Organisations and Co‐Producers, Dr Yates has received another accolade for her ground-breaking gender research, winning the inaugural Rosemary O’Leary Prize for Scholarship on Women in Public Administration.

The Rosemary O’Leary Prize is for the best article published in a particular year in a public administration journal, on the topic of women and public administration. It is named after Rosemary O’Leary who is the current Director, School of Public Affairs and Administration at the University of Kansas, and Edwin O. Stene Distinguished Professor.

Dr Sophie Yates received her award at a ceremony held at a dinner on 17 April 2019 at the International Research Society for Public Management Conference in Wellington, New Zealand.

Dr Yates said her article was “part of a collaborative special issue on gender, power and evidence based policy aimed at implementing feminist principles in the editorial process as well as the research, so it’s wonderful to have that work acknowledged”.

Her article argues that “a process-based approach to gender is more useful for understanding and responding to family violence than a narrow, category-based view”.

Dr Yates urged policymakers and other policy actors to take “a broader and more consistent understanding of gender and how it distributes power and shapes the world that men, women and children live in”.

The Rosemary O’Leary Prize was established in 2019 by the International Research Society for Public Management and submissions are judged on the significance of the contribution to scholarship on women in public administration; excellence in writing and communication; and scholarly innovation and rigor.