The Hon Greg Hunt MP, Minister for Health and Minister Assisting the Prime Minister on the Public Service and Cabinet, delivering the 2020 Garran Oration.

The outstanding contribution of several exceptional Australians to the profession of public administration is recognised by IPAA through the annual or biennial delivery of orations named in their honour.

The Garran Oration

The Garran Oration, held annually in association with IPAA’s National Conference, is one of the richest and most public contributions to discussion and debate on public administration in Australia. It was established in 1959 to honour the memory of Sir Robert Garran GCMG who served as Secretary of the Attorney-General’s Department from 1901 to 1932.

The Frances Adamson Oration

The Frances Adamson Oration is held annually by IPAA ACT and was established in 2022 to honour the contribution of Her Excellency the Honourable Frances Adamson AC. Her Excellency is the 36th Governor appointed in South Australia and was made a Companion of the Order of Australia for eminent service to public administration.

The Spann Oration

The Spann Oration is held annually by IPAA New South Wales and was established in 1983 to honour the memory of Professor Richard Neville Spann OBE MA Oxon FASSA. Professor Spann was the Chair of Government and Public Administration at the University of Sydney from 1954 to 1981.

The Reid Oration

The Reid Oration is held annually by IPAA Western Australia and was established in 1991 to honour the contribution of Professor Gordon Reid to public life. Professor Reid was a Professor of Politics and Deputy Vice-Chancellor at the University of Western Australia, and served as the Governor of Western Australia from 1984 to 1989.

The Don Dunstan Oration

The Don Dunstan Oration is held annually by IPAA South Australia in partnership with the Don Dunstan Foundation and was established in 1998 to honour the 35th Premier of South Australia, The Hon Don Dunstan AC QC. Don Dunstan set new directions for public administration that had far-reaching national impacts. 

The Hawkes Oration

The Hawkes Oration is held annually by IPAA Northern Territory and was established in 2002 to honour its longest serving President, David Hawkes. David was Commissioner for Public Employment in the Northern Territory Government from 1989 to 2001, and the driving force behind the creation of the Northern Territory’s Public Sector Employment and Management Act 1993.

The Alick and Merle Jackomos Oration

The Jackomos Oration is held biennially by IPAA Victoria and was established in 2013 to honour the life and achievements of Alick and Merle Jackomos. The story of Alick and Merle is one of immense personal dedication to each other and to the advancement of Aboriginal people in Australia.

The Irene Longman Oration

The Irene Longman Oration is held annually by IPAA Queensland and was established in 2017 to honour the memory of Irene Longman. Irene was the first woman to stand for the Queensland Parliament. She was elected in the seat of Bulimba in 1929, serving as its local member until 1932. A strong advocate for women and children, Irene was responsible for the appointment of Queensland’s first women police officers.

The Williams Oration

The Williams Oration is held annually by IPAA ACT and was established in 2018 to honour the contribution of Helen Williams AC to public administration. Helen became the first female Secretary of a Commonwealth department in 1985 and served as Secretary for several other portfolio departments as well as Australian Public Service Commissioner. For 17 years, she was the only female departmental Secretary in the Australian Public Service.