Institute of Public Administration Australia announces 2023 fellows

Renee Leon

Eight public sector leaders from across Australia have officially been awarded IPAA National fellowships, recognising their outstanding contributions to public service and IPAA. 

Upon receiving the fellowship, they are now permitted to use the postnominal ‘FIPAA’ and gain life-time access to IPAA membership. 

This year the following members are joining the IPAA National fellowship ranks: 

  • Katherine Jones PSM, Secretary of the Attorney-General’s Department (ACT) 
  • Dr Damian West PSM (ACT) (posthumously awarded) 
  • David Hazlehurst, CEO, Services Australia (ACT) 
  • Madeleine Culbert, former CEO, IPAA NSW (NSW)  
  • Shaun Smith, Chief Operating Officer, Corporate Services, Department Planning & Environment (NSW) 
  • Kathrina Lo, NSW Public Service Commissioner (NSW) 
  • Tracey Slatter, Chief Executive Officer, Transport Accident Commission (VIC) 
  • Dr Garry Hunt PSM (WA) 

“We’re honoured to welcome these public sector leaders as National Fellows of the Institute of Public Administration Australia. Each and every one of them has made exceptional contributions to public service in Australia or IPAA as an organisation. Without them, we wouldn’t be where we are today,” IPAA National Treasurer Kevin Riley FIPAA said on behalf of IPAA National President Andrew Metcalfe AO. 

This year’s awards included a special posthumous award for Dr Damian West PSM FIPAA.  

“Being able to recognise Dr Damian West PSM posthumously as a national fellow is a particular honour and means a lot to our IPAA community. He was our national secretary and sat on our IPAA ACT Council. He was a valued colleague, friend, and supporter of IPAA. His family have been overwhelmed with support following Damian’s unexpected passing last year and are grateful for this honour.”    

Nominations for national fellows are made annually by IPAA division presidents and assessed by a sub-committee of the IPAA National Council. 

Find all IPAA National Fellows here