Public Administration Research Trust Fund

In order to advance the study and practice of public administration, IPAA and the University of Canberra have jointly established a Research Trust Fund.

Grants are made annually for the conduct of research studies and other projects in public administration and for the publication of articles in refereed journals or monographs.

While publication in such outlets is preferable, the committee would consider other forms of publication. A primary objective is the stimulation of original research in the field.

Successful applicants can receive up to $5000 towards their research.

Information about the application process can be found in this brochure. 

To submit your application, or to find out more about the IPAA/UC Public Administration Research Trust Fund, please email Trust Fund Secretary Mr Richard Reid.

Applications close 25 September 2015

The Fund is administered by a joint committee.  Current committee members are:


Professor Mark Evans, Director, Institute for Governance and Policy Analysis


Professor John Warhurst, Emeritus Professor, Department of Political Science, ANU.

Barry Mewett, former Treasurer, IPAA National Council and Partner KPMG.

University of Canberra

Professor John Halligan, Research Professor in Government and Public Administration, University of Canberra.

Professor Roger Wettenhall, Emeritus Professor and Visiting Professor in Public Administration. Institute for Governance and Policy Analysis

The 2014 recipient is:

Dr Tim Legrand, Lecturer, National Security College, Crawford School of Public Policy, College of Asia and the Pacific, Australian National University for his project Overcoming the ‘Global-Local Dilemma’: Australia and Transgovernmental Policy Networks in the Anglosphere


The 2013 recipients are:

Richardson Award for best article in 2012 volume of Australian Journal of Public Administration:

Dr Will Sanders of the Centre for Aboriginal Economic Policy Research, Research School of Social Sciences, Australian National University, for his article “Coombs’ Bastard Child:  The Troubled Life of CDEP”, in vol.71 no.4, December 2012.  [CDEP=Community Development Employment Projects]

Grants to assist research projects:

Dr Anna Boucher of the Dept of Government and International Relations in the University of Sydney, for her project “Understanding ‘skill’ in the global race for migrant talent”.

Dr Kathy Laster of the Faculty of Law in Monash University, for her project “The impact and legacy of the Clerks of Court on Contemporary Justice Administration:  A Victorian Case Study’.

Prof. Jeanette Taylor of the School of Social Sciences in the University of Western Australia, for her project “A contingency approach to performance information utilization:  The impact of organizational culture”.