IPAA Young Public Sector Leader Award

The Young Public Sector Leaders Award recognises the achievements of outstanding public servants under the age of 40, and who have just completed the Executive Master of Public Administration course (EMPA).

The Australia and New Zealand School of Government (ANZSOG) and IPAA jointly determine the award winners.

To be eligible to receive this award, applicants must:

  • be a high-performing EMPA graduating student in the year they are nominated
  • be a high achiever in the public service
  • demonstrate future leadership potential
  • have strong communication skills
  • be under 40 years of age at the time they complete the EMPA course run by ANZSOG.
Click here to see the recipients of the IPAA Young Public Sector Leader Awards.
SurnameFirst NameOrganisationState


ReadAndrewDepartment of Education and TrainingVictoria
PileDanieleOffice of Environment and HeritageNew South Wales
NicholsonDavidDepartment of Premier and CabinetTasmania


O’BrienDanDepartment of
Education and Early Childhood Development
SeymourGavinExecutive Officer, Roads and Maritime Services New South Wales
DuncanAlisonDirector of the Solomon Islands Section, Commonwealth
Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade


NgoLiemDepartment of Transport New South Wales
HavrilovaMajaDepartment of Premier and CabinetVictoria
DavisonMiaDepartment of Transport, Planning and Local Infrastructure Victoria


FenslingSallyDepartment of Primary Industries Victoria
Gill ShabnamOffice of Environment and Heritage New South Wales
YoungDuncanAustralian Bureau of Statistics Australian Capital Territory


GeorgeCherylDepartment of
Business and Innovation
HarveyCoan Department of TreasuryWestern Australia
WilliamsNadine COAG Deregulation BranchAustralian Capital Territory


GarrodAlisonDept of Immigration and CitizenshipAustralian Capital Territory
KendallMatthewNational Water CommissionAustralian Capital Territory
LeathemSianNSW Workers Compensation CommissionNew South Wales


ClarkeStuartDept of Agriculture & FoodWestern Australia
Dr SpearJonathonDept of JusticeVictoria
WoodlandBrodieDept of TransportVictoria


ByrnesChristinaAustralian Taxation OfficeAustralian Capital Territory
ChisholmJamesAustralian GovernmentAustralian Capital Territory


Dr CharkerJillAustralian Bureau of StatisticsAustralian Capital Territory
Dr JacksonKateNSW HealthNew South Wales
LawrenceScottDept of Sustainability & EnvironmentVictoria


CleeveJennyDept of Premier & CabinetVictoria
OakleyChristineDept of Sustainability & EnvironmentVictoria
SpoedlerPennyDept of Environment & climate ChangeNew South Wales


ClarkeMaryDept of Treasury & FinanceVictoria
MonkleySusanDept of Employment & Workplace RelationsNew South Wales
PapantoniouPeterDept of Main RoadsQueensland
Vahl MeyerHelenDept of Premier & CabinetVictoria